Reviews of "All I Do Is Bleed"

"Patrick Ames, Chana Mathews, and Makaila Matthews are priceless. They exude what the essence of a love for music is all about…Raw…Regal…and Real. I love it." - Sherryl Craig

“Ames manages to communicate so much depth of feeling with so little in a brisk EP that leaves you begging for more.” Cody Conard, The Big Takeover Magazine

"All I Do is Bleed harkens back to a form of record creation of decades past which is much looser than anything being released today. At first, it catches you off guard when the lyrics and changes aren't coming where your mind expects them but given a few listens, the album's unbound nature is refreshing." Jon C. Ireson, Music-News.com

All I Do Is Bleed is excellent, rife with tasty innovative melodies, stellar vocal harmonies, and velvety, infectious harmonics.” - Tattoo.com  

“I Want You” opens on low-slung R&B flavors and when the melody takes hold, the tune oozes Latin tango savors, slow and sensuous. Ames’ voice exudes intense urgency and passion. Rzeszut’s delicious guitar infuses the tune with smoldering hues, warm and glistening.  Raised by Cassettes

"Silky, impassioned vocals flit across the background while Ames’s voice and tangoing guitar lines duel for space." - www.headstuff.org

"Patrick Ames always, unequivocally writes from a place of genuine emotional depth, yet never without making certain the music embraces the listener along the way. Another uniquely interesting and enjoyable release." - Rebecca Cullen, Stereostickman.com

"This music vibrates through you as you listen.  The guitar is warm and full of bass and boldness.  The vocals hum like monks in a seminary, pure and aching and transformative.  Just gorgeous. I love this EP.  It’s quirky and clearly deeply personal and full of memory.  Music should be like that, don’t you think?  At it’s best all art should be like that…"  by Samantha Simmonds-Ronceros. April 3, 2019 NOHO Arts District.

“All I Do Is Bleed is a completely genuine and utterly raw display of emotion. Ames’ musical expertise mingles with decades of life experiences and captures the intimate and chaotic beauty of human life on Earth. The tranquility of Spanish inspired guitar riffs blended with vocals that drip with emotion remind us all to take it easy once in a while and enjoy our float on the rock.” Carolyn Fasone, Atwood Magazine, April 4, 2019

TATTOO.com  March 27, 29019

San Francisco singer-songwriter Patrick Ames releases a new EP, All I Do Is Bleed, which underwent pre-release on March 23, and goes on sale April 4.

Ames’ career in music began when he was 14-years-old, which was when he started writing original songs. Later, while in college, he kept writing songs and performed. After college, he gave the music circuit a shot, but then went into book publishing.Years later, now in his early 60s, Ames is back to his first love – music, writing songs and performing in intimate clubs in the Bay Area. In the midst of recording the EP, Ames went to Buenos Aires, where the Latin music inspired him. You can hear the Latin stimulation on the EP, which includes vocalists, Chana and Mikaela, and guitarist Paulo Augustin Rzeszut, from Argentina.

Ames’ sound encompasses a vast assortment of styles, including R&B, American pop, classical crossover, Latin, and folk.

All I Do Is Bleed comprises four-tracks, starting off with “While You Were Making Babies,” riding an intoxicating pop melody with a contagious rhythm and cool, stylish washes of luminous colors. I love the backing voice, chanting “b-b-b-babies,” and the plush vocal harmonies.

“I Want You” opens on low-slung R&B flavors backed by a strumming guitar and a deep droning tone. When the melody takes hold, the tune oozes Latin tango savors, slow and sensuous. Ames’ voice exudes intense urgency and passion. Rzeszut’s delicious guitar infuses the tune with smoldering hues, warm and glistening.

“Te Amaba Locamente” travels on Latin flavors, featuring a syncopated rhythm comprising drums and bongos, as cashmere vocals imbue the tune with quixotic Spanish pigments. This track undulates on scrumptious harmonic flows, and is my favorite track on the EP because of its authentic feel.

“Queen Kae” combines elegant classical flavors with psalm-like vocal effusions atop Rzeszut’s delicately evocative guitar.

All I Do Is Bleed is excellent, rife with tasty innovative melodies, stellar vocal harmonies, and velvety, infectious harmonics.

https://www.tattoo.com/blog/patrick-ames-drops-all-i-do-is-bleed-ep/

>>>>>

Raised By Cassettes, March 30, 2019


This EP consists of four songs and it's such a trip.   Musically, the style can change from song to song but still stay within that same overall genre where you feel like it's rock but don't really know who exactly to compare it with and that's also cool.   Right away, this has clapping and feels like Jimmy Buffett or Jack Johnson, which also makes me think of that Flav Martin & Jerry Marotta CD I reviewed once not so long ago.

On the first track it just feels like such a specific sound that it has to be done the correct way or else I end up not liking it but Patrick Ames hits every note perfectly.   There are these great backing vocals, complet with this "bu bu bu bu bu" type of thing going on and I almost dare to call it soft rock but I don't know enough about the genre to be sure enough to use it.

Acoustics and lots of words start the second song, which is called "I Want You" but has the title sung in it and I think that's cool.  I don't mind titular tracks, but I always like when the title is hidden away in a non-titular track as well.    There is a gritty feel to this, it's very raw and then on the third song we're swept away by the passion of what could be compared with Desperado or perhaps salsa music.   Though the words are in a language which I do not know, I still find myself trying to sing along with them.

Quieter acoustic notes and a choir of ohm-like singing starts up the fourth and final song.  The title is sung but otherwise the singing is without words.  It's relaxing, quite tranquil and at some point I also believe it to be rather trippy, which is quite the journey we've taken here from start to finish with these various, yet impressive overall, sounds.   The way in which they are connected tells a story and that is not something you often see in music as much these days.

Joshua Macala, Raised by Cassettes, March 30, 2019

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

StereoStickman, by Rebecca Cullen  April 3, 2019

Patrick Ames’ latest release is a four-track EP that brings through an eclectic array of genres and concepts, all presented by means of a fairly raw and up-front performance and recording style.

While You Were Making Babies kicks things off and soon shows itself to be the melodic peak and perhaps the most anthem-like song on the record. A quickly engaging, uplifting guitar rhythm is followed and supported by an array of beautifully united, optimistic vocals that guide you through the story-line. The poetic lines here are short and infectious – memorable fairly instantly, and the same goes for the general progression through the song.

There are greater depths to the writing as things move forward, there’s a heavy element of regret and melancholy to the ideas, but in contrast with this – the vocals offer a distinctly joyful bit of melodic play and brightness; a really clever way to present such a sense of longing and sadness. It’s a pretty unforgettable song, likable yet ultimately provocative. The same can be said of this entire EP, as it turns out. That project title echoes in your mind as you make your way through the songs. Even with the musical positivity and bounce, you’re constantly drawn back to the thought of All I Do Is Bleed. 

I Want You follows the opener and offers an organic and rhythmic backdrop, musically spacious and lightly guiding the various voices and sections in a natural manner. On top of this, Ames’ spoken-word style verse delivery resolves at the end of each deeply personal lyric to melodically chorus the line I Want You –  a unique set-up that gives the hook all the more weight; making certain you’ll remember and recognise it. The lyrics throughout are quite heartbreaking again, unapologetically open and revealing – the sort that seem to connect on a deeper level with each revisit.

There’s intrigue in the artistry when considered among these topics – you wonder how it all came to be, and then you ponder your own life, your own experiences, and suddenly the journey seems to fit well.

After this, Te Amaba Locamente walks you through the streets of Buenos Aires with its Spanish flair in both flamenco rhythms and the language and melody on display. There’s a warming groove to this track and a near-whispered nature to the performances – all of which are notably passionate at the same time, just quietly, expressively so.

The voices and the music fascinate and entrance in equal parts – beautiful guitar work subtly intervenes only when the space requires it, and the vocals similarly hold back when the music is working its magic. Though the pace is mellow, there’s an increasing sense of energy and emotion to the piece. I was actually reminded of Rusted Root by this style of writing and performance. A definite highlight for its mysterious and hypnotic qualities.

The heart-breakingly beautiful Queen Kae brings this collection to a finish with yet another step in an unexpected direction. This defiantly emotional instrumental piece turns out to be the perfect way to round up the playlist. While the four songs each have a life of their own, there’s something about the EP title and this finishing composition that draws a personal, artistic thread through everything. Patrick Ames’ always, unequivocally writes from a place of genuine emotional depth, yet never without making certain the music embraces the listener along the way. Another uniquely interesting and enjoyable release."

StereoStickman, April 3, 2019, by Rebecca Cullen

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Patrick Ames “All I Do is Bleed” EP Release by Samantha Simmonds-Ronceros. April 3, 2019

What a little gem…slightly odd and sweetly original, Patrick Ames’s EP “All I Do is Bleed” is a magical glimpse inside a warm, thoughtful and strangely familiar mind. 

The music is vastly different from track to track, atmospheric, choral, rock n roll, deeply romantic Spanish.  But they all seem to fit together somehow, like the corners of our fractured souls.

I suppose the common denominator, what holds it all together, is Patrick and the beautiful soulful and haunting voices of his two sublime songstresses, Chana and Mikaila Matthews.   I love that the music feels live, it feels fresh and real and as if we are sitting in some wood-lined room with them all while they record. 

This music vibrates through you as you listen.  The guitar is warm and full of bass and boldness.  The vocals hum like monks in a seminary, pure and aching and transformative.  Just gorgeous.

The songs are performed, they are theatrical and dramatic and passionately cinematic.  Patrick has a love for live performance and is often to be found in local venues in and around San Fransisco.  After listening to this EP a few times I have a bit of a yen to seek him out…

I love this EP.  It’s quirky and clearly deeply personal and full of memory.  Music should be like that, don’t you think?  At it’s best all art should be like that…

Patrick Ames “All I Do is Bleed” EP Release by Samantha Simmonds-Ronceros. April 3, 2019

 

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

 ATWOOD Magazine, Music Review, April 4, 2019

Lifetime rocker Patrick Ames reminds us to enjoy the ride with his beautifully meandering EP, ‘All I Do is Bleed.’

Spring has barely just begun, but listening to Patrick James’ EP All I Do Is Bleed(independently out 4 April 2019) could fool you into thinking we’re in the dog days of summer. With this small four-track endeavor, Ames has us dreaming of sitting on the porch in the scorching sun, sipping on a cool glass of iced tea. After a trip to Buenos Aires, Ames (who is in his early 60s), began to craft an EP that bleeds (no pun intended) with heart and defies the expectations of what it means to be an aging musician.

The rawness of Ames’ voice combined with the sinful voices of Mikaila and Chana Matthews, comes together to create a unique sound that carries the grit of Tom Petty with the allure of a spanish folk song. The result is an EP that is carefree, peaceful, and wonderfully meandering as you follow Ames on a musical drift through time and space.

This four track journey begins with an anthem for the directionless. ”While You Were Making Babies” meditates on lost love.

While you were making babies
for your new family
I sat on the sofa
I was so lonely

Ames deliberates on what could have been with a woman he once loved. For a heartbreaking topic, it oddly serves as an injection of hope in a world that puts immense pressure on people, (especially young people) to have their lives figured out. Their careers, partners, and potential offspring are expected to be mapped out as quickly and as painstakingly as possible. This song serves as a rejection of that sentiment. Ames, who is in his early 60s, clearly doesn’t have everything figured out, and he reminds us that that is okay. The song muses on the simplicity of living your life. There is meaning in going with the flow and letting the universe take you wherever it leads.

While you were making babies, I wrote this song

What follows is a personal favorite off the EP called, “I Want You,” an honest and passionate song about lust. It is not often the world lends an ear to the desires of people who are not considered youthful, but this track aims to change that.

I want what we had
what we had when we did
what we wanted
we wanted one another, I want you

The lyrics ooze with the flavor of a rich life containing heartbreak, love, lust, and joy. His reminiscence of a flame that has since died out captures the flawed beauty in wanting something that is no longer there. His words are filled with longing and sorrow as they dance across effortless and meandering guitar licks.

Remaining true to his Spanish inspiration, Ames even includes a track in Spanish. “Te Amaba Locamente,” showcases the impassioned vocals of Mikaila Matthews. Ames finishes off the record with a simple, yet sorrowful choir piece written for his mother who was a choir vocalist.

All I Do Is Bleed is a completely genuine and utterly raw display of emotion. Ames’ musical expertise mingles with decades of life experiences and captures the intimate and chaotic beauty of human life on Earth. The tranquility of Spanish inspired guitar riffs blended with vocals that drip with emotion reminds us all to take it easy once in a while and enjoy our float on the rock.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

 

 

 

Reviews for "Like Family"

Excerpt from MTM, Mid-Tennessee Music

"With MIDI guitar synth in tow and the lovely backup vocals of Chana and Mikaela, Patrick dedicates this project to his mother. The sound engineering, courtesy of Mike Schoonmaker, makes each track shine to its fullest potential.It’s worth noting that Patrick’s work as a book editor and publisher adds a distinct flair to his lyrics and songwriting. Be sure you’re paying close attention!

The intro track, I Know What It’s Like, kicks off with a danceable rhythm and classic rock groove. Before the song ends, you’ll know what’s it like to get hooked by a Patrick Ames song.

The dreamy, atmospheric nature of Like Family plays well with the concept of memories transforming into snapshots in the mind as time passes by. Each instrument on this one was played by Ames’ MIDI guitar. The mellow nature and slower tempo allow the vocals to soulfully soar.

Celebrating the courage of those who believe in something so much they will take to the streets to march about it, March On acts as an anthemic ode to protests and the protestors expelling all their energy for their beliefs. Hard hitting drums serve as the marching rhythm while piano, background vocals and a percussive performance paint the soundscape. Audio clips of protests in progress bring us into the environment which inspired this track.

Push The Door Open is probably the catchiest song on this project. Driving rhythms push multiple guitars through infectious melody and memorable lyrics. This song breaks through the doorway that separates who you currently are with you really want to be by digging deep into our senses and pulling on the emotional strings.

Closing out the EP is Robert Mondavi which Ames labels “Wine Country Music”. Aptly so considering the minimalist, saloon style piano melody that sets the pace and atmosphere for a chorus that sounds like a family gathering around the ivory keys, wine glasses full, enjoying every second together as they toast to what they love most."

From Stereo Stickman.com, Sept 2017

"This EP is fantastic, really – it brings about such great vibes, a feeling of joy and togetherness; both of which are incredibly important and far too often forgotten about, particularly in light of recent world events.

Beginning with I Know What It’s Like, the music comes through with a simple, uplifting rhythmic, a stylish and effective guitar riff and bass line, and then to bring the concept to life is Patrick’s classic and genuine leading vocal. The melody is superb, and the lyrics offer the essence of the concept. You can always share your darkest times with me. The song has a great hook, the sort you’ll be singing along to even after the music has stopped.

The EP’s title track sets sail with a slightly more mellow or even dreamlike energy. The leading riff has a similar style to it, and production wise the output in its entirety has a distinct thread, consistent throughout the collection. This song though offers a fresh melody, a fresh story line, a familiar and warm sentiment, and a gentler, enjoyable vocal performance that approaches the subject matter beautifully. The story telling, as always, is authentic and soothing to listen to. The simplicity of this track has a certain charm that suggests a live, solo acoustic performance would portray its positivity and character equally well and with a wonderful touch of intimacy and realness.

March On furthers the variation on the project, that guitar style – the quickness of the notes – remains, and there’s a welcome piano part that adds a pleasant smoothness. The opening melody for this song is superb. The build up, the ascending notes, the changes, the lyrics featured at each moment – the craftsmanship of it is sublime. Ever the professional and skillful songwriter, Patrick Ames arranges his musical offerings in a way that captivates, calms, even surprises on occasion, but always hits the mark. This particular song deals with the inspiring courage of protesters. It has the lyricism and developing melody-line of a timeless classic, and the additional, scene-setting audio samples make for a pretty atmospheric experience.

The uplifting or inspiring energy of the collection comes through intensely with the song Push The Door Open. The title and concept is relevant to so many of us who dream or aspire to be somewhere or be doing something in particular, or who frequently ponder the pathways of the world. It’s a memorable idea, and the music brings a certain urgency and passion that reminds you to take action.

Described by the artist as wine country music, the final song of the Like Family project – Robert Mondavi – is a raw and organic, live sounding song, with a simple yet gorgeous piano part, and a series of layered vocals that re-highlight that element of togetherness and the sheer joy of spending time with those you consider to be family. The music is so peaceful that it has the effect of stopping you in your tracks, making sure you’re doing nothing else in this moment, only listening, considering, feeling calm and optimistic.

It’s a powerful way to finish, and as mentioned – this new project is fantastic, from start to finish. Patrick Ames has a way with words and melodies that really connects with audiences, the sort that deserves to be heard simply because it would be a great shame for you to miss out on it. If you’re lucky enough to live locally, make sure to follow Patrick via the social media links below and look out for any live appearances in the coming months.

Reviews for EP, "Four Faces"

Excerpt from IndieMusic Plus, April 4, 2017

“This Small Town” is ready for the radio in my opinion. Catchy, poppy, groovy, and an all around fun tune to listen to. Anyone who is into straightforward acoustic folk-rock then give this EP a listen. Again, as Patrick keeps cranking out new tunes his skills are getting better. I remember in previous projects I struggled to hear the instrumentation clearly sometimes, but I can tell he has put a ton of practice into this production. On “The Meaning Of Life” these skills are self evident. Listen in the background, do you hear the female vocalists? They add the perfect ambience over the music not only on the “aaahhhs” but also in the one-word harmonies sparsely sprinkled throughout the verses." - JoeJoe Keys

Excerpt from Mid-Tennessee Music, April 24, 2017

"Patrick Ames is in a lane all his own. Adapting and using the MIDI guitar synth allows Ames to add a very unique style and flair as he plays non-guitar instruments with his sweet sounding Gibson Hummingbird. With a strong crew of background vocalists thrown into the mix, Four Faces is a refreshing, unique and must-add album to your indie music collection." - Joshua Smotherman

Excerpt from IndieMinded.com, March 1, 2017

"While all of the songs on Four Faces are seemingly very different from one another, Ames manages to carefully thread rock, gospel, and R&B together to take his listeners on a complete, albeit condensed, journey. As always, Ames is putting it all out there. As singer, songwriter, producer, and general musical jack of all trades, you are getting 100% of him with every track he puts out. It is a commitment to music that is rare in what has become an industry inundated with prepackaged performers rather than artists who are devoted to their work. With a sound and a style that transcends generations and an unmatched authenticity, Ames continues to be a refreshing addition to the indie scene."

Excerpt from Stereo Stickman, Feb 19, 2017 by Rebecca Cullen:

"With only four songs in total, the project is short enough to make its mark in an instant, and fortunately it does so by means of an immense collection of moments and vibes and ideas within the writing. The performances throughout are all perfectly appropriate and relevant to the project, and this is the thread holding it all together. The songwriter has a definite sense of certainty and character about his style and his sound, and this is something that quickly becomes familiar.

The music is easy and enjoyable to listen to, even quite refreshing in light of an ocean of much more processed sounding releases. The organic energy of this collection is addictive, and This Small Town is a beautiful way to bring the EP to a close – the vibe is lovely, reflective, comforting, and the music has, as always, this sense of live performance – of now, of being right here in the moment with you, and of being unappologetically real and honest. A unique and entertaining release, well worth a listen."

 

Reviews for "Standard Candles"

"You can compare Ames’ music to Bob Dylan, Tom Petty or whoever, but I hear him as a unique indie artist that is being overlooked by the masses. He’s doing all the right things, NOW! He’s writing, releasing new music and gigging to support that music, including promoting it online. You can be assured that he is going to keep releasing new music so keep your eyes and ears peeled.  He is truly defining his own grassroots, alt folk rock genre focused on great songs driven by feeling and acting on the emotions in his music."  -  JoeJoe Keys, Indie Music Plus 

"Laid back and funky. His best work yet." -Indie Music Prime

"Builds off of the work of Dire Straits, Tom Petty and The Eagles; the inclusion of female vocals provides additional depth to an already engrossing effort." - Neufutur